I generally follow my Wahls Protocol—a nutrient-rich paleo diet that includes greens, sulfur-rich and deeply colored vegetables, berries, grass-fed meat, wild fish, organ meat, and seaweed. However, as the seasons change, I make some tweaks that work well for my body: During the winter, I’ll eat the Wahls Paleo Plus version of my diet (the ketogenic version of Wahls Protocol), and in the summer, I’ll follow a low-glycemic-index version of my diet plan. Seasonal changes aside, here’s what I eat in a typical day for vibrant energy and overall health. One of these smoothies will be primarily greens-based, while the other one will be centered around heirloom carrots or beets. I’m also very intentional about having a wide variety of greens for my smoothies: I love wild edibles such as dandelions, plantain, or lamb’s quarters, and greens from my garden such as kale, bok choy, lettuce, spinach, radish greens, and beet greens. I also use the herbs from my garden—borage, oregano, basil, savory, thyme, sage, lavender, lavage, parsley, lemon balm, mint, dill, and tarragon are my favorites. I also enjoy a large salad with fresh garden herbs. To spice it up, I’ll put sautéed onions, peppers, and fish with hot sauce over a large salad to make fajita-style. Instead, when I want dessert I’ll eat berries and chia pudding. Or I may have berries with a bit of coconut milk and chopped nuts. As summer progresses, I’ll eat one serving a day of the fresh local fruits that are in season. Generally, fruit is enough of a treat for me. She received her master’s in medicine from The University of Iowa, as well as her master’s in business administration from the University of St. Thomas. Wahls has progressive MS. For seven years, she declined steadily, and though she took the newest drugs, including very potent biologic drugs, she ended up in a tilt-recline wheelchair for four years. When she started studying the latest brain science and designed a diet and lifestyle program specifically to support her brain cells, her decline slowed, then stopped, then she recovered. Now, she bikes five miles to work. She uses these principles to help others with a wide variety of brain-related symptoms end their decline and suffering, and restore their lives. She has authored The Wahls Protocol: A Radical New Way to Treat All Chronic Autoimmune Conditions Using Paleo Principles, as well as its companion cookbook, The Wahls Protocol Cooking for Life. Terry also holds her Wahls Protocol® Seminar every August.

The Terry Wahls Sample Diet  What She Eats In A Typical Day - 92The Terry Wahls Sample Diet  What She Eats In A Typical Day - 16The Terry Wahls Sample Diet  What She Eats In A Typical Day - 17The Terry Wahls Sample Diet  What She Eats In A Typical Day - 96